Blood Orange Margarita.

Chris and I joke with our friends that on our tombstones, it will read:

THEY LOVED CAFE FRIDA.

It was one of our first meals together when we moved into our Upper West Side apartment. When we got engaged, we had dinner at Cafe Frida. We even conned our parents into throwing our engagement party there.

320070_10100211613581536_2007448966_nmy gorgeous girls

I mean, every excuse I get, we are going to Frida. My graduation from Columbia, first night back from Hawaii, I had a bad day so I’m ordering a meat plate to go…Chris and I tend to have obsessions with restaurants, but Frida has lasted longer than all the others. It doesn’t help that the bartenders know us and just casually refill our drinks when we’re snuggled up at the bar on a Tuesday Friday night.

On our latest escapade, I was all set to order my standard: the Paloma Flaca. Guys- I’m so obsessed with this place, we served this drink at our wedding. It’s pink and refreshing and just what the doctor ordered. In case you are interested in making that little number, it’s grapefruit juice + agave + tequila + cayenne pepper rimmed glass. I mean, yes, you want that.

This past Friday, we were there with two of our best pals for a late Winter double date. As soon as the waiter told us the drink specials, Chris kicked me under the table and gave me the “you are going to order that, right?” look. Sigh. So I did. And I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. Like, when I’m at work or this morning when I’m about to make breakfast. It works because the blood oranges are tart but sweet, so they make for the perfect base with the tequila. My beef with a regular margarita is that they’re a bit too watery (is that just me?) and I don’t feel like I’m really getting a cocktail. I like my drinks to have some depth to them, and this has a whole smattering of flavors that I can get into. Enjoy. This is what we’ll be drinking this weekend and all summer.

Cafe Frida Blood Orange Margarita

serves 2

  • 1/2 cup blood orange juice (you should save a few slivers for garnish)
  • Juice of three limes (we like things pretty limey round these parts. use your judgement)
  • 2 tablespoons cointreau
  • 2 shots/3 ounces of silver tequila (you need 100% agave tequila for this. you need it always, but ‘specially for this)
  • Salt
  • Lots of ice

bloodorange

photo via  since I was too enamored with my beverage to snap a pic.

Let me know how it goes. I’m currently scouring the internet to try to buy blood orange juice in bulk.

xo

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Blood Orange Margarita.

  1. auntie mela says:

    That drink sounds delicious..yum..can’t wait try it! Hope you had fun in Charlotte..miss you! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

