i love my grandmother

I really do. Here are some gems she has given us in the past two days:

1. “My aunt died in childbirth. In other words, she was having her tenth baby, and she died.”

2. “My mother was born in the New York Harbor. In other words, she was born in the Harbor in New York.”

3. (while de-meating lobsters) “Look, Sandy. This lobster is a girl. Now here, this lobster is a boy. And I’d like to show you this lobster. This lobster is a girl.”

4. (when asked who is her hero) “Saint Theresa because she is made of all that is good and sweet and rose petals.”

5. “Excuse me. I’m just going to wash this garbage can. Because of the fish. In other words, I’m going to wash the garbage pail.”

Yet nothing beats the Christmas when we were playing the question game…and asked Grandma what she wanted to be when she grew up:

“When I was little, I wanted to be a shepherd who tended to the animals and took care of orphan children.”

Sandy: “So…you wanted to be Jesus.”

You just can’t make this stuff up.

Leave a Reply

