tuesday trends: rent the runway (with a special guest!)

For some reason, the wardrobe that gets you from ages 18 through 24 suddenly expires when you turn 25. You are going to weddings. You are IN weddings. There are more work events. Less excuses to wear sweatpants on Fridays. A general need for a more adult wardrobe on not-COMPLETELY-grown-up salary.

Enter Rent the Runway. For many, the idea of RENTING your clothes seems foreign and bizarre (how does it work? is it expensive? how can you make sure it fits?). I was pretty skeptical. So I asked one of my friends, the amazingly talented and lovely Kate Bodenheimer, to show us how it’s done. Kate has rented happily and has lived to tell the tale. And let me tell you, we’re missing out. And spending our hard earned dollars on dresses we’ll never wear again…instead of renting, returning, and taking our savings to the bar. Enjoy! Thanks, Kate! xo


After working in retail for over two years at a cute little NYC boutique, I got VERY used to having access to beautiful well-made clothes especially (my favorite) dresses! I need a dress for a summer wedding? 50% off Alice and Olivia! Done! Going on a romantic tropical vacay? 50% off Yumi Kim! No problem. You get the picture. After leaving the store (which was very necessary for both my sanity and bank account), I really missed being able to wear (and afford) designer dresses to various events.

At my new job, I happened to come across an article about Jenn Hyman and Jenny Fleiss, the entrepreneurs behind the best business idea EVER: Rent the Runway! See: http://www.renttherunway.com/story.

Basically what you need to know is that Rent the Runway is an amazing company that will RENT you designer dresses, jewelry and accessories for a fraction of their actual cost. Their website (http://www.renttherunway.com/rtr_home) is user-friendly, they have dresses in a huge range of prices and styles and they deliver your order right to your door before your event. Your order comes in a complimentary garment bag, and instructions for an easy return (aka drop it in the mail in the pre-paid envelop that THEY provide!) Oh! And did I mention they’ll send you a complimentary second size to ensure that the dress will fit?!

Now, you may or may not know that Danielle’s bridesmaids know how to DRESS! For her engagement party we all wore sensible jewel tones, for the bachelorette dinner we wore fun summer colors and to the Connecticut bridal shower we wore soft girly florals. The funny thing is, we never purposely coordinated this, it was just a recurring magical coincidence, and let me tell you, it made for some goooood pictures. With DVG’s rehearsal dinner fast approaching, I felt I needed something new to wear that was seasonally appropriate, but also classy enough for a dinner in Greenwich. Being on a budget, I turned to Rent the Runway and rented this sassy number:
image-3
The Vicious Venom dress by Shoshanna which retails for $350 and rents for $50. What a DEAL! Since this was my first rental, I got $25 off, so it was a no brainer!
image-2
I used RTR a month later for a wintery Manhattan wedding and went with another dress by Shoshanna called The Lost in Love dress which retails for $415 and I rented for $75. Again, they sent me two sizes and the dress was perfect!

Screen shot 2012-12-11 at 7.59.36 AM

image

Other RTR perks:
-They are always sending out promotions, so there’s always an opportunity for further discounts.
-They’re online customer service is awesome!
-AND customers give reviews of all the dresses based on size, fit, etc and it’s so helpful! You can check out my reviews of both dresses on their website!
So if you have an event anwhere from a birthday, to your office holiday party to a red carpet event, I HIGHLY recommend Rent The Runway! Sign up for free today! http://www.renttherunway.com
Tagged

Leave a Reply

