tttturn the beat around.

Since we moved to Connecticut, our lives have been a little bit of “…oh.”

Call it interruption of expectation, maybe. Those people we were in New York are not the people we are here – apparently your street cred doesn’t follow you along the Metro North line – and we’ve spent the past four months reconsidering our choices. To be completely honest, the two reasons we moved here both don’t exist anymore.

IMG_2714 IMG_2715(two weeks before we packed ’em up and moved ’em out last winter)

We’ve needed to make some tough calls this year, and both Chris and I made two very separate decisions to walk away from opportunities we thought (at the time) (naively) were perfect for us. I start a new job next week, and I am so excited about taking this big step towards a career I feel very, very passionately about. As passionate as I feel about my glassware collection, which is strong and undying and occupies most of my thoughts. I woke up early today to take my new glasses out of the dishwasher. I was THAT excited.

I have no idea what the next year will hold for this tiny little family, but I do know that I’m so proud of my boyfriend – and so unbelievably grateful that he has been such a sound, calming presence during the past six months of CrazyTown, USA. He has been the receiver of a lot of indecision (and one weekend that I was POSITIVE I wouldn’t pass my background check because we had library books and a Time Warner Cable router out) and a lot of un-Danielle-ness. It’s been the most un-me time of my whole life, and I’m taking some steps to get back on solid ground.

I think the first step (if this was Danielles Anonymous) was to say that yes, I’ve been a little sad. I’ve felt a little hole in my heart from missing a community in New York, of friends and coworkers and family. I miss my family. I feel far away. But at the same time, I’ve never been happier in my home. It is so funny, and bittersweet, how sometimes those two things (family + home) don’t intersect.

IMG_0092

But I do think that this beat is turning around. New start + best friend moving back + new throw pillows in the mail + seven new glasses = beat. turned.

I think I thought (again, naively) that some things click into place and stay that way forever. But this whole journey – the careers, the friendships, the living situations – are so fluid, and require constant tending.

So this is the start of maybe a new chapter for me… a Chapter Four Part Two. I’m taking a deep breath, turning the page and buying some new shoes.

How was your week?
xo

2 thoughts on “tttturn the beat around.

  1. Welcome to CT….may all your journeys be filled with excitement.

  2. Ali B says:

    LOVE this post!! So excited for you Danielle congrats on the new job & good luck!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

